So, you’re wanting to obtain a Florida Concealed Carry Weapons License, but you aren’t sure where to begin? No matter your reason, it’s easy to get a license! Many of you ask us how this process goes, and we have compiled your answers in the following list…
Being a license holder has certain requirements. You do not need to be a Florida resident to receive a license in Florida, but you do need to be an American citizen, permanent alien resident residing in the United States, or if you are Active Duty Military stationed overseas. You must be at least 21 years old and legally allowed to own a firearm. However, the age requirement for Active Duty Military is 18 or older.
Demonstrate Proficiency in Firearms Handling
What does this mean? It means that in the state of Florida, you must demonstrate your competence with a firearm. That proof comes in the form of a certificate of completion of a class. Our concealed carry classes at the range offer these certificates that meet the Florida guidelines for a certified firearms training course to prove your competence with a firearm.
Be sure to check with our staff if you have questions about our classes. Additionally, there are other ways to demonstrate your firearms proficiency.
- If you are Active Duty Military you can bring your orders, DoD ID, and current state-issued ID to any office that issues a license. If you are a former Military member, you can use your form DD 214.
- If you are certified through a law enforcement agency, that qualifies as training as well.
- If you have a hunter safety course certification, that also qualifies for firearms training. Safety course certifications from other states also qualify, as long as the education standards are the same as Florida’s (Check with the issuer’s office to see if Florida will accept it).
Submitting Your Application
The easiest way to submit your application is to schedule an appointment with one of the offices in Florida that issue the license. For example, the Fort Walton Beach Department of Agriculture Division of Licensing issues these licenses and would be the best location to submit your application. During the appointment, you will need your proof of training and photo ID.
You will need to fill out an application, take your fingerprints, photographs, and pay the processing fee. Typically, the fee would be $42 for fingerprint processing and $55 paid to the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. The fee varies depending on the individual. This list provides a rundown of other offices that will process your application. Also, check out the variation of processing charges on the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services website.
You can submit your application via mail. Download an application and contact your local law enforcement office to process your fingerprints. You then mail the application along with required copies of your photos, certificates, and your check for the licensing fees, to this address:
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Division of Licensing
P.O. Box 6687
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6687
For more information on how to apply for a Florida Concealed Carry Weapons License, visit the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services website.
After submitting your application, you’ll have to wait to receive a decision. The Department of Agriculture takes up to 90 days to make a decision, however, the average time for a decision is 35 days. Active Duty and Veterans typically receive their decisions around two weeks after the application has been received. You would also be given a tracking number so that you can check the process of your application being reviewed. A Florida Concealed Carry License allows you to carry a firearm concealed anywhere you are legally allowed to do so. It also makes firearm purchasing easier and allows you to carry non-lethal forms of self-defense.
What can disqualify, void, or deny your application?
- If you fail to provide all the required materials for your application.
- A judge declares you mentally incompetent for firearm ownership.
- You are a habitual drug and alcohol user.
- If you were admitted into a mental health facility sometime in the past five years.
- You were dishonorably discharged from the military.
- You lied or made false statements on your application.
- Currently on parole or probation.
- If you were convicted of a violent crime.
- If you were convicted for domestic violence.
- You are subject to a restraining order.
- You were a convicted felon and have not had your civil rights restored.
If none of these apply to you, then you should be good to go!
Once you receive your application, don’t stop there! Concealed carrying is a responsibility, so extra training should be considered. Be sure to check out our classes and US Law Shield, a legal service offered that provides legal protection after a self-defense scenario. Also, if you are traveling, remember to always check which states that recognize the license. Not all states recognize the Florida Concealed Carry Weapons License. You can check state reciprocity here.
Florida Concealed Carry Weapons License Classes at ECISS
Ready to take a class? To learn more about our Florida CCW License classes, and to take the first step towards registration for a class, visit our Facebook Events page for a list of upcoming classes, or email the team for additional information.