Emerald Coast Indoor Shooting & Sport is proud of our local areas military history and ALL of the military of our great country, from all services – Air Force, Army, Navy, Coast Guard, Marines and the Reserve and National Guard units.
We gladly offer discounted range time and discounts on products and training to all active duty and retired personnel. YOUR sacrifice is appreciated by the entire staff here at Emerald Coast Indoor Shooting & Sport and does not go unnoticed!
We are a short drive from the local military installations and welcome you to take the short drive and visit us! If your unit needs dedicated range time, please contact us to schedule a personalized training session to meet your needs and budget!
PURCHASING A FIREARM FOR OUT OF STATE RESIDENTS ON PCS ORDERS
**If you are active duty and have current PCS orders for any military installation in Florida, you can purchase a firearm at Emerald Coast Indoor Shooting & Sport (subject to any applicable waiting periods). All we need is your current drivers license (or state issued ID card), your military ID and a copy of your military PCS orders. If you have a Florida Concealed Weapons Permit, you will not be subject to the 72 hour waiting period on handguns and longuns. Any other states CWP does not waive the waiting period.***
HOW TO OBTAIN YOUR FLORIDA CONCEALED WEAPONS PERMIT IF MILITARY
If you are active duty or have a DD-214, then you are exempt from the requirement of taking the Florida Concealed Weapons Permit Class. You can make an appointment with the Department of Agriculture (Fort Walton Beach) or the Tax Collector’s office (Niceville, Crestview, Fort Walton Beach). Active military personnel who want to apply for a concealed weapon license should include a copy of their Common Access Card or other form of official military identification with their applications. FDACS will also accept a copy of service members’ current orders as proof of active duty status. Honorably discharged veterans should submit a copy of their DD 214 long form with their applications. The cost for a new Florida Concealed Weapons License is $97 (add $22 if applying at the Tax Collector’s office) and renewals are $45 for Florida residents or $87 or out of state residents (add $12 if renewing at the Tax Collector’s office.) Any non active duty or retired spouse does need to take the Florida Concealed Weapons Permit Class (offered here at Emerald Coast Indoor Shooting & Sport!)
Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Public Safety Act
On March 13, 2018, Governor Rick Scott signed the Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Public Safety Act into law. This law made several significant changes to the legal age for purchasing firearms. The law raised the age for purchasing shotguns, rifles or other long guns to 21 from 18 WITH EXCEPTIONS. The prohibitions of this subsection do not apply to the purchase of a rifle or shotgun by a law enforcement officer or correctional officer, as those terms are defined in 687 s. 943.10(1), (2), (3), (6), (7), (8), or (9), or a servicemember as defined in s. 250.01.
The Act also made a mandatory seventy-two hour waiting period for all firearm purchases with exceptions. The waiting period does not apply in the following circumstances: (a) When a firearm is being purchased by a holder of a concealed weapons permit as defined in s. 790.06. 714 (b) To a trade-in of another firearm. (c) To the purchase of a rifle or shotgun, upon a person’s successfully completing a minimum of a 16-hour hunter safety course and possessing a hunter safety certification card issued under s. 379.3581. A person who is exempt from the hunter safety course requirements under s. 379.3581 and holds a valid Florida hunting license, is exempt from the mandatory waiting period under this section for the purchase of a rifle or shotgun. (d) When a rifle or shotgun is being purchased by a law enforcement officer or correctional officer, as those terms are defined in s. 943.10(1), (2), (3), (6), (7), (8), or (9), or a servicemember as defined in s. 250.01.